Tel: +44(0)1234 326691 Email: 
Hello guest
Your basket is empty

The Hot Rats Sessions

Code: 0824302003220
Release date 20th December 2019.
Sadly due to this release date we cannot guarantee delivery before Christmas.
The Hot Rats Sessions box set celebrates the 50th anniversary of one of the greatest albums in the history of recorded music. The original 1969 Frank Zappa album was the first record to be recorded on a prototype 16-Track Tape Machine. Self-described as a “Movie For Your Ears,” it was technically the second solo outing for the composer and the album that put FZ on the map as a guitar player. The recording sessions produced a wealth of material that ended up being sprinkled among multiple releases during FZ’s lifetime. This mammoth six disc collection documents and compiles every composition recorded during those days in July 1969, along with an abundance of rare mixes, Vault nuggets and complete basic tracks mixed from the original multi-track masters by Craig Parker Adams in 2019. Additional gems include images by original Hot Rats cover photographer, Andee Nathanson, and session photos taken by Bill Gubbins, liner notes by Matt Groening and essays by Ian Underwood, Andee Nathanson and Vaultmeister Joe Travers. The box set also includes a Zappa Land board game in celebration of this release with custom game pieces, dice and playing cards. Featuring 65 tracks, all but 6 tracks are previously unreleased. The 6 tracks previously available are from the 1987 CD mixes which have been out of print since 2012.
6 CD / Box Set
Track Listings
Disc 1 Music (Section 1)
2 Piano Music (Section 3)
3 Peaches En Regalia (Prototype)
4 Peaches En Regalia (Section 1, in Session)
5 Peaches En Regalia (Section 1, Master Take)
6 Peaches Jam - Part 1
7 Peaches Jam - Part 2
8 Peaches En Regalia (Section 3, in Session)
9 Peaches En Regalia (Section 3, Master Take)
10 Arabesque (In Session)
11 Arabesque (Master Take)
12 Dame Margret's Son to Be a Bride (In Session)
Disc 2
1 It Must Be a Camel (Part 1, in Session)
2 It Must Be a Camel (Part 1, Master Take)
3 It Must Be a Camel (Intercut, in Session)
4 It Must Be a Camel (Intercut, Master Take)
5 Natasha (In Session)
6 Natasha (Master Take)
7 Bognor Regis (Unedited Master)
8 Willie the Pimp (In Session)
9 Willie the Pimp (Unedited Master Take)
10 Willie the Pimp (Guitar OD 1)
11 Willie the Pimp (Guitar OD 2)
Disc 3
1 Transition (Section 1, in Session)
2 Transition (Section 1, Master Take)
3 Transition (Section 2, Intercut, in Session)
4 Transition (Section 2, Intercut, Master Take)
5 Transition (Section 3, Intercut, in Session)
6 Transition (Section 3, Intercut, Master Take)
7 Lil' Clanton Shuffle (Unedited Master)
8 Directly from My Heart to You (Unedited Master)
9 Another Waltz (Unedited Master)
Disc 4
1 Dame Margret's Son to Be a Bride (Remake)
2 Son of Mr. Green Genes (Take 1)
3 Son of Mr. Green Genes (Master Take)
4 Big Legs (Unedited Master Take)
5 It Must Be a Camel (Percussion Tracks)
6 Arabesque (Guitar OD Mix)
7 Transition (Full Version)
8 Piano Music (Section 3, OD Version)
Disc 5
1 Peaches En Regalia (1987 Digital Re-mix)
2 Willie the Pimp (1987 Digital Re-mix)
3 Son of Mr. Green Genes (1987 Digital Re-mix)
4 Little Umbrellas (1987 Digital Re-mix)
5 The Gumbo Variations (1987 Digital Re-mix)
6 It Must Be a Camel (1987 Digital Re-mix)
7 The Origin of Hot Rats
8 Hot Rats Vintage Promotion Ad #1
9 Peaches En Regalia (1969 Mono Single Master)
10 Hot Rats Vintage Promotion Ad #2
11 Little Umbrellas (1969 Mono Single Master)
12 Lil' Clanton Shuffle (1972 Whitney Studios Mix)
Disc 6
1 Little Umbrellas (Cucamonga Version)
2 Little Umbrellas (1969 Mix Outtake)
3 It Must Be a Camel (1969 Mix Outtake)
4 Son of Mr. Green Genes (1969 Mix Outtake)
5 More of the Story of Willie the Pimp
6 Willie the Pimp (Vocal Tracks)
7 Willie the Pimp (1969 Quick Mix)
8 Dame Margret's Son to Be a Bride (1969 Quick Mix)
9 Hot Rats Vintage Promotion Ad #3
10 Bognor Regis (1970 Record Plant Mix)
11 Peaches En Regalia (1969 Rhythm Track Mix)
12 Son of Mr. Green Genes (1969 Rhythm Track Mix)
13 Little Umbrellas (1969 Rhythm Track Mix)
14 Arabesque (Guitar Tracks)
15 Hot Rats Vintage Promotion Ad #4
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings